Magnum PI knows your secrets

“What is internet anyway?’

“Internet is that massive computer network. The one that’s becoming really big now.”

“What do they write to it like mail?”

“I guess you would communicate with NBC writers and producers… Alison… can you explain what internet is?”

Aah. Weren’t they all sweet in 1994, trying to explain how to check your eathe-quake stricken  loved ones were ok, using a media they’d never heard of.

I probably couldn’t have done a better job. I was born the same year as the Sony Walkman, and have outlived it by four months now. No one would have predicted that in 1994. “What even is  Therebeforelight,” they’d say?

“I can’t hear you, I’m listening to Prince,” would come the reply.

Let’s forgive them shall we. After all they’re not Dr Manhatten.

Tom Selleck is though. Here’s Magnum PI himself giving you the benefit of his wisdom on behalf of AT&T in 1993.

In a nutshell, he’s pretty sharp. But, I still can’t open a door with the sound of my voice. Brian Blessed probably can but not me. So back to the drawing board Magnum.

~ by David Thorley on February 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
