It’s coming back to me now

I don’t think I’ve ever really experienced déjà vu, or if I have, I didn’t notice it, which means either it’s a rubbish thing to experience in the first place, or my memory’s rotten. Or both.

This thought came to me the other night listening to Les Barker read this poem on Radio 4.

He makes a good point or two. About déjà vu.

Snap out of it.

As I understand it, déjà vu is an experience  with a few forms,which are mainly things like going to an ostensibly new place and feeling that you know where you are. Or, more mysteriously, having a sudden flash that  something that’s happening to you just at that moment is something that’s happened to you in some other previous moment.

I have exactly the opposite of that. I have what you might call inaperçu, which is the phenomenon by which you go to a place you’ve been every day for the last twenty years and get lost in the toilet. Or a sudden flash that a routine you go through every day of your waking life is something entirely alien and wacky.

I’ve lost count of the number of times in my life that I’ve had to relearn to tie my shoelaces.

This is the sort of thing that’s supposed to happen to the elderly and demented. But presumably the older and more demented you become also the more susceptible you should become to déjà vu. It stands to reason that if you’ve done more things in your life, there’s more opportunity for the things you do to ring bells with the past. (Unless you’ve spent your life living in a stationery cupboard, in which case anything that isn’t Tippex pens or Helix protractors probably brings you out in a fit of the vapours).

Where was I going with this?

Oh I remember. High speed moral of the morning coming up:

Itseemsaterribleshametogothroughlifethinkingeverythingthat’shappeningtoyou’shappenedbefore.

There’ssomethingwonderfulandchildlikeaboutdicoveringthingsyou’veforgotenyou’dforgoten.

Buthavingtolearntotieyourlaceseachweekisapaininthehole.

~ by David Thorley on February 24, 2011.

One Response to “It’s coming back to me now”

  1. […] It’s coming back to me now (therebeforelight.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
