Typecasting

James “Darth Vader” Earl “Mufasa” Jones reading from Othello. He must hate it being said, but there are moments of pure Darth Vader in the speech to the Venetian Senate.

It doesn’t help that the second line goes, “my very noble and approved good masters.” He might as well have come to my house, cracked open some Twiglets, put on the Return of the Jedi DVD, and skipped through to the all the bits when Vader says “Yes, my Master,” or “What is thy bidding my Master?” or “I have felt him my Master.” Crikey. Let’s just cross our fingers and hope he doesn’t say “Father”.

Her father loved me; oft invited me;
Still question’d me the story of my life,
From year to year, the battles, sieges, fortunes,
That I have passed.

And I said, “Luke, Chewy and Han blew up my mobile home, so I cut one of their hands off, sold the other one to a slug who kept him in a fridge, and for some reason left the hairy one with Carrie Fisher.”

But if that seems jarring. Here’s Darth Vader reading the end of the Bible. Beasts, angels, plagues, wrath-filled vials. Yikes.

~ by David Thorley on March 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
